Bookshop Memories

I was looking through some old photos the other day, and it started me thinking about bookshop visits when I was a child. I was always a reader and much of my pocket money was spent on books. This was a time pre-MrB’s (I know it is hard to imagine, but stick with me). Thankfully it was a time when bookshops were aplenty and I had three main ones that I would visit. 

The first was a small bookshop in the village of Chipping Sodbury. I can’t remember what it was called, but it was a lovely little shop, and the children’s section was at the back. I can remember very clearly buying Haphazard House by Mary Wesley there. JK Rowling was born in the town and lived locally as a small child. I wonder if she was taken there too?

The next shop I remember was a huge WHSmith in Broadmead in Bristol. I am not sure if it still there, but it was huge, or at least I remember it being so. They had a large children’s section and I used to sit on the floor to look at the books. I bought all of the Malory Towers books there, which I still have. When I checked the price, they were £1.25 each! I can also remember spending a whole £9.99 on a box set of Narnia books, which I still have. I had saved for them, and it seemed like a huge fortune at the time. 

George's Bookshop, Bristol, 1936
George’s Bookshop, Bristol, 1936

Finally was the special treat bookshop. Georges on Park Street in Bristol had several stores, being opposite Bristol University it had a couple of academic bookshops, one with maps in I seem to remember, but it was the main shop which I loved.  I may be misremembering, but I think it had four floors, full of every book you can imagine, and a huge children’s section.  We didn’t go often as it wasn’t in a part of Bristol we regularly visited, but I was taken as a special treat around my birthday. I still have many of the books I bought there, including an encylopedia of British birds, and another one on butterflies and moths. 

I can remember feeling as though I had entered a treasure trove, and the non-fiction was a revelation. Beautiful, glossy books on subjects which made my mind race and wonder and most importantly think. The shop is still there, although it is much smaller now. 

When I left home I lived in Scotland for a while, where I met the Delightful Mr F. I shared a flat with some other students, and that flat was above a bookshop. We were all working on an industrial work experience placement, and I when my first pay packet arrived in my bank account, I went out and bought a coat (it was Scotland and winter was coming) and the Gold Bat by PG Wodehouse. A sensible use of my new found income, don’t you think?

Do you have fond memories of a childhood bookshop? I am sure that Mr B’s is filling that slot for many children in Bath. 

3 thoughts on “Bookshop Memories

  1. Two bookshops are still in my memories. As a child, I was always with a book, I couldn’t go anywhere from home without one. I used to borrow lots of books at the local library. I used to stay at my grandmother’s on wenesdays and there was one -non debatable- condition : a book. Not very far from her flat there was a small bookshop, which I used to call "the bordeaux bookshop", because it was painted in very dark red and I loved this color : at noon, we would go there (after much pleading from my part) to buy a book, usually a "Club des 5" or "Alice" (but those ones were a little more expensive). My grandmother always complained that I read too quickly. And there was the Mecca of all bookshops : the FNAC. FNAC (there was a main store in Les Halles when I was a child) was THE place where you could find every kind of books and recordings, cameras, televisions… My father loved photography : he would go there every saturday to have a look at the most interesting and expensive cameras… only he never really bought anything. He hated shopping alone, so he would drag me there, on a saturday morning (meaning I had to wake up early !) and I was faced with the boring propect of staring at cameras for hours. So we had a little game : at one point, usually after one hour, I would leave him when he wasn’t paying attention and I would run straight to the book section. There, I would find a good book, sit on the floor with other kids and read until my father remembered that he had a missing daughter somewhere in the store. Then came the bargain : there had to be a fee, of course, for waking up early, taking the underground and staring at boring cameras without complaining. I never walked out of a bookstore without a least one book !

    Like

  2. Yes, I was a very lucky girl : my parents never refused to buy me a book. They complained of course, because they knew that as soon as we went in a big store with a book section I would leave them and that they would have to run after me, but yes, they loved buying me books.

    Like

Leave a comment